Right of passage

Standard

I don’t think I know one female in the Hispanic community that does not have their ears pierced. Getting your ears pierced is a right of passage for every female which usually happens around 3 months old or younger. I personally got my ears pierced at 3 months old and my younger sister got hers done at 1 month. Those same earrings were probably in my ear for about 2-3 years and every couple years after that my grandma or mom gave me a new pair of earrings that I wore constantly. I never knew this was not the norm in America until my American friends started getting their ears pierced in elementary and middle school. Here it is seen more as a right of passage from being a kid to a more responsible young adult. I don’t think it is a bad thing to get them pierced so early and I will definitely do the same with my girls. It made me feel more feminine as a child and definitely still does to this day.  I was always excited to get a new pair of earrings for birthdays and Christmas growing up and I still share that same excitement even now when I get a nice pair of earrings.

Alumnae/Staff – Andrea

Leave a Reply

